Thank you for registering.

Webinar

From National Security to Energy Security: How Computational Chemistry is Defining Science at SRNL
From National Security to Energy Security: How Computational Chemistry is Defining Science at SRNL

Presented by Dr. Lindsay Roy of Savannah River National Laboratory

Thursday, October 1, 2020 9:30 AM EDT / 6:30 AM PDT / 3:30 PM CEST / 7 PM IST / 9:30 PM CST / 10:30 PM JST


Thursday, October 1, 2020 12:30 PM EDT / 9:30 AM PDT / 6:30 PM CEST / 10 PM IST / October 2 12:30 AM CST / October 2 1:30 AM JST

Check your email for links and calendar

Savannah River National Laboratory is a multidisciplinary laboratory within the Department of Energy’s (DOE) National Laboratory network, specializing in applied research programs in environmental management, national and homeland security, and energy security.  Today, SRNL is expanding its portfolio to include basic science research areas to complement traditional program areas.


This talk will center on how basic science, specifically modeling and simulation, has successfully integrated into areas of national and energy security to deliver new insights into complex phenomena that occur during experiment.  In that context, this presentation will discuss the finer details of plutonium processing, how silver clusters form within zeolite structures to enable a better Xe-adsorbed material, and strategies for controlling the microstructure in garnet-like solid state ionics.