Materials Constitution Data in MSI Eureka – Fundamentals for Efficient R&D

Efficient progress in materials R&D requires an understanding of the physical and chemical properties of a material, which in turn requires knowledge of the material’s constitution, driving forces, thermodynamics, and (if possible) its kinetics. Materials constitution data provide a basis for innovative research to verify computational simulations and to guide experiments and alloy development. 

Join Dr. Svitlana Iljenko, of MSI – Materials Science International Services in this webinar as she explains the necessity for critical evaluation of the often-conflicting individual constitutional data and presents the data categories of MSI Eureka available in the MedeA Environment.


Key areas covered:


  • Phase equilibria

  • Phase diagrams

  • Thermodynamics

  • Crystal structure

  • Materials properties

  • Morphology


The MSI Eureka database is provided by MSI GmbH (Materials Science International Services GmbH), and is the world’s largest knowledge base on materials constitution for inorganic materials.

Thursday, March 4, 2021 10 AM PST / 12 PM CST / 1:00 PM EST

Optional MedeA Training Session: Advanced Atomic Model Building Based on Comprehensive Databases 

The week following the webinar, Dr. René Windiks and the Materials Design Support Team invite you to attend a MedeA training session. This training is open to everyone.

Learn to use the versatile MedeA Building tools and the comprehensive information of the various MedeA databases to create realistic models for atomistic simulations

Training topics:


  • Explore MSI Phase Diagrams and extract essential structural data with MedeA InfoMaticA

  • Easily convert less practical crystal structures with, e.g.  oblique angles and partial site occupations, into models that are ideally suited for calculations with MedeA VASP, MedeA LAMMPS, and MedeA GIBBS

  • Visualize facets of macroscopic crystals and create realistic surface models for complex structures with MedeA Morphology and the MedeA Surface Builder

  • Construct models for various interfaces with minimal strain and lattice mismatch using the MedeA Interface Builderand the MedeA Stack feature

  • Build nano-structures such as particles, tubes, pipes, and rods and deposit those on surfaces or in nanopores with the MedeA Nano Builders and MedeA Docking


Training

Thursday, March 11th:
10:00 am PST (USA) 
11:00 am MST (USA)
12 pm CST (USA)
1 pm EST (USA)
7:00 pm Europe (CET)
11:30 pm India (IST)

Presented by Dr. Svitlana Iljenko and Dr. René Windiks

  • linkedin3
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Researchgate

© 2021 by Materials Design, Inc. 

Privacy Policy
Materials Design® and MedeA® are registered trademarks of Materials Design, Inc.