Li-Ion Batteries and Beyond: Driving Next-Generation Energy Storage with MedeA

At a time when lithium is becoming the 'new oil', the demand for next-generation battery materials, materials optimization, and materials processing understanding, are at an all time high. It is important to establish a broad range of battery materials, inclusive of lithium and beyond. This webinar will discuss some of the ways MedeA can be used to explore next-generation battery materials, and more specifically how MedeA can be used to accelerate the search for good multivalent ion battery materials.

  • Automated convergence testing

  • Intercalation site identification in the Chevrel phase Mo6S8

  • Electronic analysis of multivalent ion battery materials

  • Voltage comparison of multivalent ion batteries

  • Stable phase prediction as Li is increased in LixNiO2

  • Voltage prediction for LixNiO2

Tuesday, January 19, 2021 -- 10 AM PST / 12 PM CST / 1 PM EST
Wednesday, January 20, 2021 -- 10 AM EST / 4 PM Europe (CET)
Thursday, January 21, 2021 -- 8 AM Europe (CET) / 12:30 PM India (IST) / 3 PM China (CST) / 4 PM Japan (JST)

Optional Training Session

(select on registration form)


MedeA Training Session Li-Ion Batteries and Beyond

Tuesday, January 26th: 10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT / 12 pm CDT / 1 pm EDT (USA) / 7:00 pm Europe (CET) / 11:30 pm India (IST)


Following the webinar, Dr. Juran, together with the Materials Design Support Team, will lead a MedeA training session. Learn to use the MedeA GUI, VASP GUI, Flowchart, and analysis tools to pioneer next-generation battery materials! Topics include:


  • Automated convergence testing

  • Automated intercalation site testing with VASP high-throughput

  • Electronic structure analysis

  • Voltage calculations


Tuesday, January 26th: 10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT / 12 pm CDT / 1 pm EDT (USA) / 7:00 pm Europe (CET) / 11:30 pm India (IST)

Presented by Dr. Taylor Juran

  • linkedin3
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Researchgate

© 2020 by Materials Design, Inc. 

Privacy Policy
Materials Design® and MedeA® are registered trademarks of Materials Design, Inc.