• Admin

Interatomic Potentials - Why We Still Need Them and How Can We Improve Them


The Materials Design User Group Meeting (UGM) features talks from MedeA users in the chemical, pharmaceutical, and engineering industries as well as invited plenary lectures from key scientists and developers of software technology.

This year's plenary talks are open to everyone.

Register now.

UGM Plenary Speaker Spotlight

This week's speaker is Professor Richard Catlow FRS, of University College London, Cardiff University, and The Royal Society, United Kingdom.

Interatomic Potentials - Why We Still Need Them and How Can We Improve Them

Interatomic potentials or forcefields have historically provided important insights into the structure, properties, and behavior of materials. This talk will examine the details and application of interatomic potentials, illustrated by the successes and the implications of selected examples, and will discuss developments and opportunities for the future.

Biography: Professor Richard Catlow FRS Richard began his career at Oxford University, has directed the Davy-Faraday Laboratory at the Royal Institution in London, has been a professor at University College London, the University of Keele, the University of Cardiff, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society. In addition to teaching and developing computational techniques, Richard has published widely, he is widely cited in the scientific literature, and has employed computational and experimental methods in many areas of solid state science.

Other internationally renowned speakers at the User Group Meeting include:

  • Georg Kresse (University of Vienna, Austria)

  • Rutger van Santen (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)

  • Lindsay Roy (Savannah River National Laboratory, USA)

  • Kevin Gagnon (Vertex Pharmaceuticals, USA)

This year's UGM plenary speaker presentations are open to everyone!

Professor Catlow’s lecture will be presented at two separate times on October 8 to accommodate schedules worldwide. Choose the meeting time that is most convenient for you.

Thursday October 8: 6:00 am PDT / 9:00 am EDT USA 3:00 pm Europe CEST 6:30 pm India (IST) 9:00 pm China (CST) 10:00 pm Japan (JST) Thursday October 8: 10:15 am PDT / 1:15 pm EDT USA 7:15 pm Europe CEST 10:45 pm India (IST)

If you have any questions, please contact ugm@materialsdesign.com.

  • linkedin3
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Researchgate

© 2020 by Materials Design, Inc. 

Privacy Policy
Materials Design® and MedeA® are registered trademarks of Materials Design, Inc.