top of page
  • Katherine Hollingsworth

Thursday's UGM Webinar: Catalytic Processes for Sustainable Chemicals and Fuels


VASP 6

Upcoming Webinar

Presented by Professor Sir Richard Catlow; Department of Chemistry, University College London, Cardiff University; UK Catalysis Hub, Research Complex at Harwell, and The Royal Society, United Kingdom

ABSTRACT


Achieving sustainability is possibly the greatest global challenge of the 21stCentury; and developments in catalytic science will be crucial in meeting this challenge. This talk will explore how a powerful combination of computational and experimental techniques is providing detailed structural and mechanistic insight into a range of catalytic processes of key importance for the development of sustainable chemicals and fuels. Our discussion will concentrate on the following systems:

  1. The mechanisms of CO and CO2 conversion into methanol over copper and zinc oxide supported copper catalysts.

  2. The catalytic chemistry of methanol to gasoline conversion in microporous catalysts.

  3. The dynamics of adsorbed molecules in zeolite catalysts.

  4. Catalytic ammonia synthesis and the development of new catalytic technologies

We will highlight the role of computational modeling but also show how modeling can be used synergistically with experimental techniques.


Register Now

 


Live Webinar Dates


Thursday, October 7th: 07:00 PDT (USA) 10:00 EDT (USA) 15:00 GMT (EUROPE) 16:00 CEST (EUROPE) 19:30 IST (INDIA) Join us after the presentation for a live Q&A session.

**A recording of the session will be available immediately after for anyone who registers.


Upcoming:

Other internationally renowned speakers at the User Group Meeting include:

  • Georg Kresse (University of Vienna, Austria)

  • Professor Michele Parrinello (Instituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy)

  • Professor Chris Van de Walle (University of California Santa Barbara, USA)​

 

Professor Sir Richard Catlow

Sir Richard Catlow began his career at Oxford University, has directed the Davy-Faraday Laboratory at the Royal Institution in London. A Fellow of the Royal Society, Professor Catlow’s distinguished career has included technical leadership positions University College London, the University of Keele, and the University of Cardiff. A practitioner and developer of computational and experimental techniques, Professor Catlow has been cited in the literature some 50 thousand times, and has introduced computational methods in areas as diverse as catalysis and mineralogy. Sir Richard was knighted in 2020 for his leadership in science and research.


 



35 views

Comments


bottom of page